We bring Shakespeare to your classroom

In support of Tulane University’s commitment to work directly with the people of New Orleans, Shakespeare on the Road is available, free of charge, to middle and high schools in the Greater New Orleans area. A team of Tulane performance students and one faculty member will visit your school and perform this dynamic program.

This live performance contains excerpts and scenes from many of Shakespeare’s plays as well as stage combat, action and humor. Students gain literary and historical perspective and an understanding of and appreciation for the power of language.

The Shakespeare on the Road performance is one hour in length including a short talk-back with the cast members after the show. The show can be done for large or small audiences, depending on space. A 15’x15′ flat performance space is needed with enough room for the students to sit on three sides. A traditional stage is not necessary.

This program is only available in the greater New Orleans area due to scheduling and travel restraints.

The following performances are available in 2017: 

  • Thursday March 23 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Tuesday April 4 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Thursday April 6 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Tuesday April 11 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Thursday April 13 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Tuesday April 18 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Thursday April 20 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Tuesday April 25 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Thursday April 27 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Tuesday May 2 (one-hour block between 9:30a-11:30a)
  • Thursday May 11 (one-hour block between 1:30p-4:30p)

To book a show, or to ask questions, contact Chaney Tullos at ctullos@tulane.edu or (504) 314-7788. 

Pictured: Emily Fortunato, Hannah Welsh & Rebecca Greaves at Dibert School. Photo by Cheryl Gerber.